Fondue

I want a cave

A cave to age cheese in

Cheese from milk

Pouring out of the breasts

Of a cow I do not have

I’ll age it all

The same:

The holey kind

Like the stuff the moon’s made out of,

And in a few years

When it’s ripe

I’ll eat it

My insides will light up

Like the moon

And the kids will point and say,

“Mama you glow in the dark!”

 

I have a cave

A cave to change in

Strip down naked

To dragon scales

A cavern to stretch skin in

Roll about on smooth ground

A stalagmite to scratch an itch on

Spread my wings

Sprawl

Let out some firebreath

Lay a few eggs;

Eggs that’ll hatch

When the cheese is done

I’ll feed my babies from my breast

With cheese as a snack,

They’ll adore holey cheese

 

There is a cave

I hang upside down in

It’s big mouth gapes open

At the sky above

Where birds sing

Birds I don’t hear though

I feel their vibration

From where upside down

I hang

With hundreds, no! thousands of bats

We’re waiting

For the dark vortex,

A vortex upon which to alight;

Rising in our midst

A witch on a broomstick

My kids know where she came from.

Your peace . . .

